Car Insurance Agents in Florida

Find the Right Agent for Your Car Insurance Needs

Elesha N Keaton - life insurance agent in georgia

Nathaniel Schiro 

 ✔ verified 

“I am a Financial Educator, helping people take control of their money to create financial freedom.”

📍Cape Coral, Florida, 33991

JoeSpeer Life Insurance - Life insurance agent in georgia

Andrzej Zenczykiewicz

 ✔ verified 

“Do what’s right even when no one’s looking.”

📍Sarasota, Florida, 34240

JoeSpeer Life Insurance - Life insurance agent in georgia

Tsahai Martin

“I’m an agent that will look out for your best interest and work with what’s best for your family financially!”

📍Groveland, Florida, 34736

car insurance agents Florid

Car insurance is a mandatory coverage in Florida. It requires individuals to have the minimum amount of liability and injury protection as per the laws. But getting the best car insurance in Florida will ultimately depend on your individual circumstances.

That’s where a local car insurance agent can assist you in finding the right coverage option.

According to Bankrate‘s research into the Florida car insurance market, full coverage costs $2,762 per year and minimum coverage costs $997 per year, both of which are significantly higher than the national averages of $1,771 and $545, respectively.

With that in mind, here’s some of the car insurance coverage Florida residents are required to have as per the state laws. 

Personal Injury Protection: A minimum of $10,000 in coverage is required. 

Property Damage Liability: A minimum of $10,000 in coverage is required. 

Collision Coverage (optional): Covers vehicle repairs even if the accident was your fault. 

Medical Payment (optional): Pays the 20% of medical bills not covered by PIP, plus amounts in excess of $10,000. 

Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist (optional): Pays your claims if the at-fault driver does not have liability insurance or has only a minimal amount of coverage. 

Bodily Injury Liability (optional): Pays for the other party’s medical bills and/or lost income in excess of $10,000 if you are at fault in an accident. Coverage is typically $100,000 per person, with a maximum of $300,000 per accident. 

Why Choose Agency Height? 

Local Coverage Expertise– Explore top agents who best understand your location, local laws, and needs.   

The Power to Choose– Talk to an agent or five, the choice is yours! Get multiple quotes and pick the one you like best. 

Hassle-free process– No unwanted calls. Book free consultations with only the ones you choose. 

Popular Auto Coverages in Florida

Personal Injury Protection

Personal injury protection (PIP) insurance pays for injury-related medical and rehabilitation costs, lost income, and funeral and burial costs. Bodily injury liability coverage pays for any physical injuries sustained in an accident caused by you.

Property Damage Liability

In most states, property damage liability coverage is required by law. If you are at fault for a car accident that damages another vehicle or property, such as a fence or building front, it usually helps cover the cost of repairs. Damage to your own vehicle is typically not covered by property damage liability coverage. 

Bodily Injury Liability

If you cause a car accident, bodily injury liability coverage pays for the medical bills of those who are injured (not including yourself). This coverage also helps to cover the cost of legal defense if you are sued for damages. 

Collision Coverage

Collision coverage helps repair or replace your car if it is damaged or destroyed in an accident with another vehicle, regardless of fault. This is distinct from liability coverage, which pays for damage to another person’s car caused by an accident you cause.

Florida Car Insurance Cost

According to the Florida Office of Insurance Regulation, the minimum insurance coverage needed to register the majority of personal automobiles in Florida is $10,000 in Property Damage (PD) coverage and $10,000 in Personal Injury Protection (PIP). The total premium costs for this are denoted as “PIP + PD” for the rating examples presented below.  

Many people also acquire coverage for damage to their own car on top of the minimum necessary coverage for bodily injury, uninsured/underinsured motorists, and medical payments (such as collision, comprehensive, towing & labor, rental reimbursement, etc.). “All Coverages” refers to the total premium for all of these coverages. 

Here’s some of the car insurance costs available from different insurance companies in Florida.

Company Name PIP + PD1   All Coverages 
Esurance Property & Casualty Insurance Company   $193   $1,332  
United Services Automobile Association   $300   $1,554  
USAA Casualty Insurance Company   $351   $1,799  
USAA General Indemnity Company   $429   $1,938  
Safeco Insurance Company of Illinois   $448   $2,023  
State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company   $582   $2,389  
Permanent General Assurance Corporation   $603   $2,528  
Security National Insurance Company   $625   $2,283  
The Standard Fire Insurance Company   $626   $2,521  
Geico Indemnity Company   $781   $3,520  
Allstate Insurance Company   $844   $2,786  
LM General Insurance Company   $878   $5,581  
Allstate Fire and Casualty Insurance Company   $995   $3,536  
Equity Insurance Company   $1,145   $3,034  
Allstate Property & Casualty Insurance Company   $1,185   $3,556 

Expensive Cities for Car Insurance in Florida

The cost of Florida car insurance depends on a number of variables, such as the type of car, its age, mileage and the city you live in. Here is a list of Florida’s five most affordable cities for car insurance. 

City Name  Average annual premium for full coverage 
Hialeah  $3,777 
Miami  $3,713 
Boynton Beach  $3,672 
Lake Worth  $3,593 
West Palm Beach  $3,563 

Cheapest Cities for Car Insurance in Florida

City Name  Average annual premium for full coverage
Gainesville  $1,782 
Callaway  $1,804 
Naples  $1,882 
Ocala  $1,916 

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does car insurance cost in Florida per month?

In Florida, the average cost of car insurance is $2,162 per year, or $180 per month for a full coverage policy. The average monthly premium for state minimum coverage is $69, or $828 per year.

How much auto insurance do I need in Florida?

When registering a car in Florida, residents must show proof of two types of coverage: personal injury protection (PIP) and property damage liability (PDL). For both types, the minimum required for a private passenger vehicle is $10,000 per person.

Can I get out-of-state auto insurance in Florida?

No, you must have car insurance in your state of residence. If you relocate, you must notify your insurance company of your new address as soon as possible. If you live in another state, the company may deny your claims.

What is the cost of registering a vehicle in Florida?

 When the owner does not have a license plate or record of a license plate registered in their name for a vehicle he or she previously owned in Florida, the initial registration fee of $225 must be paid.

Is collision insurance required in Florida?

In contrast to PIP and PDL coverages, Florida motorists are not required by law to carry collision insurance as part of their auto insurance policy. Collision insurance covers damage to the policyholder’s vehicle caused by an accident.

Find a Local Insurance Agent Near You

Connect with a local agent online to help you with your insurance needs.

insurance agents nearby