The Best Way To Get Your Insurance License In Georgia

 

Insurance license is crucial for anyone who wants to further work in the industry. All in all, in the U.S. all you need to do is fill out the application, study for the course and give the examination. In Georgia, the process is overseen by the Office of Commissioner of Insurance and Safety Fire.

If you’re wondering how to get licensed, it’s pretty easy. The application fee is quite minimal and the study hours are easy to get by as well. The courses are updated regularly, and the process is brief yet thorough. You can become a licensed agent in no time.

To have an insurance license in Georgia, you need to go through the following process:

In this blog

Application Requirements for Insurance License

To get an insurance license in Georgia, you must meet the following criteria:
  • You need to be a local resident or have a local business address.
  • You must be 18 years old.
  • It would be best if you took up pre-license training.
  • Attain the required score on the tests.
  • Have an application.
  • You must have verified identification.
  • You must submit your biometrics.
  • Lastly, have a solid background check.
infographic insurance license
best insurance license

Education

To apply for an insurance license in Georgia or anywhere else in the country, the candidate must complete a pre-licensing course. A model of it is on the website of Kaplan Financial Education. The hours depend from state to state. In Georgia, you are required to do a minimum of 20 hours of coursework before you can appear for the exam. These hours are one line of authority. Which means you have different study hours for each line of authority you want to apply for.

For example, if you want to apply for Property and Casualty Insurance, you have to take a 40 hours course.

Insurance-agent-desktop
Insurance-agent-mobile

The Examination

Before the examination, you have to present a degree or a certificate of the course you have taken. Make sure to have it during the registration. The course certification must be within 12 months of your application date.

The examination in Georgia as well as the whole country requires a fee. In Georgia, the fee according to the National Online Insurance School is $63 for one attempt. You are allowed to appear for the exam thrice before you have to conduct the course again.

The examination is about 2 hours long, and it is suggested to focus the most on sections with the highest scores. We recommend you refer to exam outlines before you appear for the exams.

usage insurance license

Biometric Submission

The State laws require a candidate to submit their fingerprints after they are done with the examination. Once the fingerprints are submitted, a background check is initiated. To submit fingerprints, you must book an appointment to submit them virtually.   

The prices to get biometrics may vary depending on when you apply.   

Background Check for Insurance License

After submitting your biometrics, your identification is verified for any criminal activity. Additionally, background checks help you have a verified license. It also increases a person’s employability rate. 

Don’t Forget Affidavits for Insurance License

Filling up an affidavit is a crucial step for getting your insurance license. Office of Commissioner of Insurance and Safety Fire – Georgia, provides templates for it. You can get a form for an affidavit in the state insurance department office. Once you fill out the form, remember to save it as a PDF.  

Insurance-agent-desktop
Insurance-agent-mobile

Insurance License Application

After the exam and ID verification, you finally become eligible to apply for a license. Each line of authority requires a separate application. For example, if you are applying for a property and casualty insurance license, you must apply twice. The application fees differ according to states as well. The prices may vary depending on when you apply. Here’s the list of documents required for the application:
  1. Primary ID
  1. Secondary ID
  1. Passed exam document
  1. Fingerprint card
  1. Citizenship Affidavit
insurance license ways

Lastly

After the steps mentioned above, your application will go for a review process by the Georgia state insurance department. If all your documents have met the standard, then your license processing should be complete in about two weeks or 14 business days. The process only slows down if the papers don’t meet the given standards.

Once your insurance license is ready, you will receive an e-mail from the state insurance department, which will tell you about the status of your license.

Congratulations! Now you are a licensed insurance agent. The next step in your career path will be to look for an insurance sales job and selling insurance.

One good way to get yourself on the map is by getting listed on our agent directory.

Comment you next plan of action!

Insurance-agent-desktop
Insurance-agent-mobile
infographic insurance license

Share This Infographic On Your Site

Related Articles

Leads for insurance

3 Simple Ways to Leverage Networking to Generate Leads for Insurance in 2021

how to become an independent insurance agent

How to Become an Independent Insurance Agent

A Cheat Sheet

Independant Insurance Agent 1

Insurance Claim Process

Helping Clients is The Best Way to Retain Customers and Gain Referrals