Commercial Auto Insurance By State

A Overview of State Requirements

State laws in the U.S. regulate commercial auto insurance.48 states have made it mandatory for businesses to insure their commercial vehicles. While New Hampshire and Virginia remain the only exceptions, commercial vehicles can be held liable for damage even in those states. Businesses in almost all the states must get commercial auto insurance to operate legally. Failing to meet the minimum state requirements could land you in hot water with the authorities.  

The tough stance of the states on commercial auto insurance can be understood as commercial drivers have to work around the clock, and such vehicles are always on the road. But even despite the state laws, it is always a smart choice to invest in a good commercial auto insurance policy as the stakes are high, and the financial burdens resulting from an unexpected accident could cripple your business.  

Different U.S. states have set different requirements for commercial vehicle insurance. So, follow this article till the end to understand the minimum coverage requirements across different states.  

commercial auto insurance by state banner

What Does Minimum State Requirements Mean?  

Minimum state requirements are the mandatory coverage limit requirements that business owners must fulfill for their commercial vehicles in each state.  

Most states set minimum compulsory limits for coverage like bodily injury coverage, liability coverage, personal injury protection, and uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. The states set the limits for each coverage by assessing the risks involved.  

However, business owners must understand that the minimum state requirements are not always sufficient to cover all their commercial vehicle insurance requirements.  

Therefore, they must consult with an insurance expert to add more coverage limits depending on their necessity. In short, the intention behind getting commercial auto insurance should not be to only get by the state laws but to get coverage that adequately shields your business during times of crisis.

Looking For Commercial Auto Insurance?

Connect With The Top Insurance Professionals Near You!

Minimum Commercial Auto Insurance State Requirements by State  

Here are the minimum commercial vehicle insurance requirements across different states in the U.S.  

Note: Vehicles like semi-trucks, tractor-trailers, and heavier vehicles may require additional liability coverage depending on their model and use. 

States  Minimum Commercial Auto Insurance Requirements 

 

Alabama 

$25,000 property damage liability coverage per accident/
$50,000 bodily injury liability coverage per accident/
$25,000 bodily injury liability coverage per person 
Alaska  $50,000 bodily injury liability coverage per person/
$100,000 bodily injury liability coverage per accident/
$25,000 property damage liability coverage per accident 

Arkansas 

 

$25,000 bodily injury liability coverage per person/
$50,000 bodily injury liability coverage per accident/
$25,000 property damage liability coverage per accident 
Arizona  $25,000 bodily injury liability coverage per person/
$50,000 bodily injury liability coverage per accident/
$15,000 property damage liability coverage per accident 
California  $15,000 in bodily injury liability coverage or death liability per person/
$30,000 in bodily injury liability coverage or death liability to more than one person/
$5,000 in property damage coverage per accident
Colorado  $25,000 bodily injury liability coverage per person/
$50,000 bodily injury liability coverage per accident/
$15,000 property damage liability coverage per accident
Connecticut  $25,000 bodily injury liability per person/
$50,000 bodily injury liability coverage per accident/
$25,000 property damage liability coverage per accident/
$25,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage per person/
$50,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage per accident 
Delaware  $25,000 bodily injury liability coverage per person/
$50,000 bodily injury liability coverage per accident/
$10,000 property damage liability coverage per accident/
$15,000 personal injury protection (PIP) for any one person/
$30,000 PIP coverage for all persons injured in any one accident
Florida  $10,000 in personal injury protection coverage/
$10,000 in property damage liability coverage
Georgia  $25,000 bodily injury liability coverage per person/
$50,000 bodily injury liability coverage per accident/
$25,000 property damage liability per accident
Hawaii  $20,000 per person bodily injury liability coverage/
$40,000 per accident bodily injury liability coverage/
$10,000 per occurrence property damage liability/
$10,000 per person personal injury protection coverage 
Idaho  $25,000 bodily injury liability coverage per person/
$50,000 bodily injury liability coverage per accident/
$15,000 property damage liability coverage 
Illinois  $25,000 per person bodily injury liability coverage/
$50,000 per accident bodily injury liability coverage/
$20,000 per accident property damage liability coverage/
$25,000 per person uninsured motorist coverage/
$50,000 per accident uninsured motorist coverage 
Indiana  $25,000 bodily injury liability coverage per person/
$50,000 bodily injury liability coverage per accident/
$25,000 property damage liability coverage per accident 
Iowa  $20,000 bodily injury liability coverage per person/
$40,000 bodily injury liability coverage per accident/
$15,000 property damage liability per accident 
Kansas 

Liability coverage:

$25,000 per person for bodily injury coverage/
$50,000 per accident for bodily injury coverage/
$25,000 per accident for property damage 

Personal injury protection (PIP) coverage: 

$4,500 per person for medical expenses/
$900 per month for one year for disability/loss of income/
$25 per day for in-home services/
$2,000 for funeral expenses/
$4,500 for rehabilitation expenses 

Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage: 

$25,000 per person/
$50,000 per accident 

Kentucky  $25,000 bodily injury liability coverage per person/
$50,000 bodily injury liability coverage per accident/
$25,000 property damage liability coverage per accident/and $10,000 personal injury protection (PIP)\ 
Louisiana  $15,000 bodily injury liability coverage per person/
$30,000 bodily injury liability coverage per accident/
$25,000 property damage liability coverage 
Maine  $50,000 per person bodily injury liability coverage/
$100,000 per accident bodily injury liability/
$25,000 property damage liability coverage/
$50,000 per person uninsured motorist coverage/
$100,000 per accident uninsured motorist coverage/
$2,000 per person medical payments coverage 
Maryland  $30,000 bodily injury liability coverage per person/
$60,000 bodily injury liability coverage per accident/
$15,000 property damage liability coverage per accident 
Massachusetts  $20,000 bodily injury liability coverage per person/
$40,000 bodily injury liability per accident/
$8,000 personal injury protection/
$5,000 property damage liability coverage per accident/
$20,000 uninsured motorist coverage per person/
$40,000 uninsured motorist coverage per accident 
Michigan  $50,000 bodily injury liability per person/
$100,000 bodily injury liability per accident/
$10,000 for property damage in another state/
$250,000 personal injury protection (or less for individuals enrolled in Medicare or Medicaid) 
Minnesota  $30,000 bodily injury liability coverage per person/
$60,000 bodily injury liability coverage per accident/
$10,000 property damage liability coverage/
$25,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage per person/
$50,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage per accident/
$40,000 personal injury protection 
Mississippi  $25,000 bodily injury liability coverage per person/
$50,000 bodily injury liability coverage per accident/
$25,000 property damage liability coverage
Missouri  $25,000 per person bodily injury liability coverage/
$50,000 per accident bodily injury liability coverage/
$25,000 per accident property damage liability coverage 
Montana  $25,000 bodily injury liability coverage per person/
$50,000 bodily injury liability coverage per accident/
$20,000 property damage liability per accident 
Nebraska  $25,000 bodily injury liability coverage per person/
$50,000 bodily injury liability coverage per accident/
$25,000 property damage liability per accident 
Nevada  $25,000 bodily injury liability coverage per person/
$50,000 bodily injury liability coverage per accident/
$20,000 property damage liability per accident 
New Hampshire 

Not mandatory but business owners must prove that they are capable of fulfilling the state’s Motor Vehicle Financial Responsibility Requirements if an at-fault accident occurs. 

$25,000 bodily injury liability coverage per person/
$50,000 bodily injury liability coverage per accident/
$25,000 property damage liability coverage per accident/
$25,000 uninsured motorist coverage per person/
$50,000 uninsured motorist coverage per accident 

New Jersey  $15,000 per person bodily injury liability coverage/
$30,000 per accident bodily injury liability coverage/
$5,000 property damage liability per accident/
$15,000 personal injury protection (PIP) coverage 
New Mexico  $25,000 bodily injury liability coverage per person/
$50,000 bodily injury liability coverage per accident/
$10,000 property damage liability coverage per accident 
New York  $10,000 for property damage liability coverage for one accident/
$25,000 for bodily injury coverage and $50,000 for death for a person involved in one accident
$50,000 for bodily injury and $100,000 for death for two or more people in one accident 
North Carolina  $30,000 bodily injury liability coverage per person/
$60,000 bodily injury liability coverage per accident/
$25,000 property damage liability coverage 
North Dakota  Bodily injury liability coverage: $25,000 per person / $50,000 per accident/
Property damage liability coverage: $25,000 per accident/
Uninsured motorist coverage: $25,000 per person / $50,000 per accident/
Personal injury protection: $30,000 per person 
Ohio  $25,000 bodily injury liability per person coverage/
$50,000 bodily injury liability coverage/per accident
$25,000 per accident property damage liability 
Oklahoma  $25,000 bodily injury liability coverage per person/
$50,000 bodily injury liability coverage per accident/
$25,000 property damage liability coverage per accident 
Oregon  Bodily injury liability coverage: $25,000 per person / $50,000 per accident/
Property damage liability coverage: $20,000 per accident/
Uninsured motorist coverage: $25,000 per person / $50,000 per accident/
Personal injury protection: $15,000 
Pennsylvania 

Bodily injury liability coverage: $15,000 per person / $30,000 per accident/
Property damage liability coverage: $5,000 per accident/
Medical benefits: $5,000 

 

Rhode Island  $25,000 bodily injury liability coverage per person/
$50,000 bodily injury liability coverage per accident/
$25,000 property damage liability per accident 
South Carolina 

$25,000 bodily injury liability coverage per person/
$50,000 bodily injury liability coverage per accident
$25,000 property damage liability coverage per accident 

 

South Dakota 

Bodily injury liability coverage: $25,000 per person / $50,000 per accident/
Property damage liability coverage: $25,000 per accident 

 

Tennessee  $25,000 bodily injury liability coverage per person/
$50,000 bodily injury liability coverage per accident/
$15,000 property damage liability coverage per accident 
Texas  $30,000 in bodily injury liability or death liability per person/
$60,000 in bodily injury liability coverage or death liability to more than one person/
$25,000 in property damage per accident
Utah  Bodily injury liability coverage: $25,000 per person / $65,000 per accident/
Property damage liability coverage: $15,000 per accident/
Personal injury protection: $3,000 per person 
Vermont  Bodily injury liability coverage: $25,000 per person / $50,000 per accident/
Property damage liability coverage: $10,000 per accident/
Uninsured motorist coverage: $50,000 per person / $100,000 per accident / $10,000 property damage 
Virginia  Business vehicles do not require to be insured mandatorily but owners must prove that that can pay for the damages in an accident.
$30,000 bodily injury liability coverage per person/
$60,000 bodily injury liability coverage per accident/
$20,000 property damage liability coverage per accident 
Washington  $25,000 bodily injury liability coverage per person/
$50,000 bodily injury liability coverage per accident/
$10,000 property damage liability per accident 
West Virginia  $25,000 bodily injury liability coverage per person/
$50,000 bodily injury liability coverage per accident/
$25,000 property damage liability 
Wisconsin  Bodily injury liability coverage: $25,000 per person / $50,000 per accident/
Property damage liability coverage: $10,000 per accident 
Wyoming  $25,000 bodily injury liability coverage per person/
$50,000 bodily injury liability coverage per accident/
$20,000 property damage liability per accident 

Source: The minimum state requirements for commercial auto insurance have been extracted from the respective state insurance websites.

As mentioned earlier, your commercial vehicle might need additional liability coverage depending on the model of the vehicle and the purpose it is used for.  

You can contact the transportation department in your respective state or consult with insurance agents on this matter. You can also confirm if your commercial vehicle requires trucking insurance or other additional coverage by checking your DOT number with the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA).  

Also, business owners must consult with insurance professionals to determine if the minimum state requirements suffice their insurance needs or if a higher coverage limit is required. Moreover, they can add more coverage options for an extra layer of financial security in case of an accident. 

You can also contact us and get matched with top commercial insurance agents in our directory to find the best commercial auto insurance for your business vehicles. 

Multiple coverage options on your fingertips.

Choose from various options and select the policy
that best suits your requirement.

Related Articles

Looking For Commercial Auto Insurance?

Get Connected With Top Insurance Agents. Find The Best Policies!

commercial auto insurance 2